2 dudes, 8 chins, 12 slices

Should you be a regular visitor to my blog, you may have caught a recent post where I reference some of my favorite pizza joints around Jersey… today, with great respect, I bow down to my neighbors to the east in what I must deem: The greatest pizza I’ve ever had.

I was told over and over again by a group of insistent Staten Islanders  that I need to trek out to Bensonhurst (Bklyn) and give L&B Spumoni Gardens a fair shot… well, I finally did, and, needless to say, for the past three days I have not been able to stop eating… and apologizing for my ignorance.

Fresh, hot, cold, re-heated, microwaved…it just doesn’t matter. This pizza is the truth. It’s safe to assume that below a layer of tomato sauce, beneath a hidden layer of cheese and a crisp, well-done Sicilian crust are the answers to some of the world’s greatest questions.

24 slices... 12 to eat, 12 for later

24 slices... 12 to eat, 12 for later

Do yourself a favor, take the Lincoln to the west side, to the battery park, down the belt, past the Verrazanno,  beneath the D Line and down 86th St.  for a guaranteed appetite pleasing experience. It’s well worth the $25+ in tolls. WoW!

Explore posts in the same categories: New Jersey, New York, Restaurant Reviews, travel

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “2 dudes, 8 chins, 12 slices”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I can attest to this being the greatest pizza I’ve ever eaten and three days later it was just as tasty! Thanks, Pags!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Who forgot to order cheese on that pizza?

  3. Rose Says:

    talking about pizza at work today and my Bensonhurst born co-worker says, “It’s a sacrilege to put pizza in the microwave-especially Spumoni Gardens!” And yes, she says it’s the best!

    • sinatram Says:

      i agree… but seriously, you could toast this with a blowtorch and it would still be good

      • John Says:

        Simply the best Sicilian slice in New York. If you haven’t already indulged, you must eat Joe & Pat’s round pie (Victory Blvd, Staten Island).

        Both establishments represent the two kingdoms of Neapolitan and Sicilian pizza, respectively.


Leave a Reply

