Pie-O-My

So Midtown Lunch decided to compile a list of the best pizza in Midtown Manhattan. Because I work in the area, I can assure you from first hand experience…  although these may be the best, they are nothing to write home (or a blog) about.

Of course, as most things do, this got me thinkin’… what pizza is worth writing about? 

Naturally, I crossed the Hudson River to prepare my list of the Best Pizza in New Jersey. With respect to Pete Genovese and the Star-Ledger Munchmobile, below are my choices for Jersey’s top slices…

  • Pizza Town USA– Recently re-introduced to the tasty and seemingly always open stop just off exit 157 in Elmwood Park
  • Grimalidi’s– So maybe we stole it from Brooklyn, but this pizza has brought the brick oven to Hoboken
  • Carmine’s– The pizza I grew up on… way out in Netcong, NJ
  • The Godfather – Stop in East Hanover for the ultimate toppings from Bruschetta to Baked Ziti
  • Pete & Elda’s/ Carmen’s Pizzeria – After the beach, a stop in Neptune City  should be the first order of business down the shore… paper thin XXL
  • Lodi Pizza – Another great stop along Rt. 46
  • Rocco’s – It got me through college and greatly improves the Madison food scene
  • Lido’s Pizza – Back to Hackensack, my birthplace, for more paper thin crust
A slice of heaven! Rarely a leftover at Pete  & Elda's

A slice of heaven! Rarely a leftover at Pete & Elda's

While I’m not an expert, I do have respect for pizza from the 5-boroughs… for more info check out I Dream of Pizza… hoping for some L&B real soon (ya hear that, pags?)

Explore posts in the same categories: New Jersey, Restaurant Reviews, travel

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Pie-O-My”

  1. Chris Says:

    what, no shout out for 7 Star?

  2. Kelly Says:

    I second that…there should be a follow up article, listing best drunk pizza places….high up on my list are

    Hoboken Pizza
    Benny Tudino’s
    7 Star
    Uptown Pizza (so conveniently located at the foot of City Bistro)

    I mean, Domino’s in college got me through in four years…Drunk pizza deserves some credit

  3. Jacqueline McClure Says:

    You and Kelly need to seriously go to my fav pizza place in downtown JC. It’s Lisbon Pizzeria 256 Warren St, Jersey City, New Jersey ( NJ ) 07302 and was litterally right across the street from where I lived in the Gotham…best effing pizza I’ve ever had, and everyone I took there agreed. Only downside is that it’s take out only…very small place next to a portuguese restaurant.


Leave a Reply

