Ooh yea yea yea… cheeeeeeeeeessseeeeee! A visit to Badger Country

I have made it quite obvious that I take pride in finding and dining at eateries throughout New Jersey. However, once in a while, I get the opportunity, mostly thanks to my job, to travel our great country and discover the local cuisine.

My most recent adventure… a cheesy trip to Madison, WI… a town that is very easy to a) fall in love with, or, b) have a heart attack. Well i suppose it was so enjoyable because in addition to the food, I also enjoyed the fall colors with a balmy temp of 72 degrees.

cheese

The fare is very American… Cheese, Beer, Cheese, Brats, Cheese… and Wisconsin does it their way. I knew I was in for some fun when the first bar I walked in had Budweiser on the “IMPORT” list…

Hell, give me classy pub grub anytime, and I guarantee a smile. My time was limited and my stay at the Madison Concourse Concourse Hotel was short…however, I had the opportunity to try two great local establishments… The Old Fashioned and The Great Dane.

Co-workers and locals suggested favorites such as fried cheese curds and custard, but I balked with the hope of returning home at the same weight that I departed at.

Favorite Selections of the trip…

  • Brewman Rob’s Gourmet Grilled Cheese at The Great Dane (123 Doty St.)- yes, you heard it, grilled cheese. Start with Two thick slices of Wheatberry-grain bread. Stacked with Gouda, Otter Creek Organic raw milk seasonal pesto cheddar, organic tomatoes, finished with basil pesto and oh, what the hell, 4 strips of local applewood bacon.  Takes wonder bread and American to new heights!!!
  • Totally Naked Beer– New Glarus Brewing Company – Nice Pale Ale… the way I like it anyway

The best part of all… I didn’t pay more than $15 for any of my meals.

Explore posts in the same categories: travel

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

