The real “Value Meal”

Something I had to share after I unfortunately had yet another forgettable midtown-Manhattan overpriced, under-satisfying, downright pathetic… LUNCH!

This got me thinking…

12 dollar salads! 6 dollar soups! 8 dollar turkey sandwiches! Worst of all, they don’t even taste good!!!!!!

 I think I would rather not eat… if only my brain, not my heart, had control over my stomach.

That said, I thought a list of food that was actually worth its weight in gold would make me feel better… cost does not apply here, but the below list is worth it — for $1 or $1,000,000. These are not necessarily heart-healthy choices… however, they are good for the soul.

– Veal Sorrentine at E&V – West Paterson, NJ – $17.95

– A Spicy Tuna Hand Roll at Kazu- Howell, NJ – $6.00

– A Cheesesteak at Jim’s Steaks– Philadelphia, PA – $10.00

– A baked lobster roll at Sushi Roku – Santa Monica, CA – $19.00

– BBQ at Redbones – Somerville, MA – $8.00 – $25.00

– A Roast Beef, Mozz and Gravy at Fiore’s deli– Hoboken, NJ – 8 inch $5 – 16 inch – $10

For those who live nowhere near any of these…some chains

– A Double-Double from In-and-Out Burger – West Coast (mostly CA)

– a 10-pack from the castle – Nationwide

– a spinach salad from Maggianos – Nationwide – (and yes, this is me endorsing a menu item from an Italian-chain restaurant…try it)

to wash it down…
– an 05 Krug Cab – $26 p/bottle

and for after the meal…

– a rhum clement on the rocks – $40 p/bottle

– a gurkha grand reserve cigar- $8

now that’s livin…

Explore posts in the same categories: travel

3 Comments on “The real “Value Meal””

  1. Dina Says:

    Oooo spicy tuna roll at Kazu! I ordered like 3 of them, never forget it! And Brian orders that roll at sushi roku because he can expense it haha! I can’t believe you mentioned a 10 pack from the castle haha! But I guess my secret love of a #2 from Mickey D’s with a 3rd cheeseburger added on isn’t exactly culinary excellence haha!

  2. Kelly Says:

    I’d like to comment in regards to your post of overpriced, unsatisfying lunches. NYC lunch spots suck for the most part, but I had a rather enjoyable experience today with a grilled chicken caesar salad wrap. As you are well aware, I never eat wraps and to my suprise it was rather delicious — I didn’t even pick out the tomatoes and peppers like I normally would. It was at least worth the $6.77, then I stopped at Subway and picked up two chocolate cookies, yum!

  3. Brian Says:

    Even if the baked lobster roll was $1900 I’d still get it (and expense it). It’s delicious.


Leave a Reply

